Money Matters

Money is undoubtedly important in the present times. It is indeed essential for survival. Even young children know pretty well the value of money. It’s no longer surprising to see people starting to save money even at an early age.

money22As we discussed the different concepts on motivation, there’s this forum that truly caught my attention (though it was late when I noticed the forum :D). It was raised by classmate Theresa Sy who asked our points on the use of money in motivating kids to learn in school.  As expected, there’s a mixture of responses coming from different sides. Let me take some of those views.

The initiator of the discussion says that it’s not being materialistic especially when maturation already comes in whereby this now serves as sources of both goals and motivation. I agree on this point. As I added basing on my personal experiences, it’s not just the “money” that I am receiving every time I hit our agreed goal in exams or assignments, but also the “increasing self-esteem” that is building upon me. It’s the special feeling that you’ve been rewarded because you do good in your job.

Like what Ryan Michael Oducado said, the use of money as a form of motivating learners may work for some, but not for the others. So, it has to be considered on a case-to-case basis. I think parents as the closest contact of these young learners know if such technique will do good or not (in the case of just fostering materialism). To add on this, Eira Claudine Hilario emphasized that she sees the point in rewarding good grades with money. According to her, “As long as it is backed up with guidance as well (how to save, what to spend it on, etc.), I think it is a good way to motivate one’s children to learn (plus, they can save up for their own toys/gadgets! Hehe).” I can somehow relate on this as I really exerted my best effort during my Kindergarten years in order to gain bag_of_moneymore money as rewards from my mom. I learned to save and earn that lead me to having a collection of my favourite simple toys in the end. For me, it didn’t teach me to become materialistic but rather to positively value the worth of money. I have to say that to earn money, we really need to work hard for it.

Finally, when asked about what and how to motivate your kids should you become parents in the near future, I like what still Ryan Michael Oducado shared which I quote:

“I have read that to ensure a positive and enduring behavioral change, pairing extrinsic motivator with an intrinsic one ensures lasting effect. Working on this view, I’d still use money, hugs, praises to my kids to motivate them to excel in school but will also instil to them the importance of education and cultivate the proper attitude of learning for learning sake. Further, I will ensure a positive nurturing climate (humanistic perspective) by not reprimanding my kids in cases of failure or difficulty in school, rather providing time to them and support in areas where they are weak.”

imagesThe concept of “pairing” extrinsic motivators or reinforcers with an intrinsic one is really a good idea. Not only that students will have tangible rewards after a certain accomplishment, but also a sense of increased natural drive to perform better. I also believe it will be a good foundation towards an effective and lasting motivation. This however can also be strengthened by considering the “right timing” and application of extrinsic motivation so it would not have detrimental effect to the child’s intrinsic motivation, as mentioned by Robenille “Rain” Malit.

Truly, I enjoyed reading this discussion forum as I can relate my previous experiences as a young learner. Again, I am positive on the use of money as an extrinsic motivator for so many reasons that most of my classmates also think of. it’s just a matter of carefully considering when and how it must be done.

Happy learning! God bless. 😀

 

Reference:

Theressa Sy. Money, Money, Money. Retrieved June 17, 2013 from http://myportal.upou.edu.ph/mod/forum/discuss.php?d=47788#p189202

Leave a Reply

